DevenLF
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact: Send private message

ZWave Dimmers

Thu May 20, 2021 12:18 pm

I've about reached my boiling point when it comes to some Insteon (Smarthome) products. I have over 16 of the Keypadlinc8's in my house, and while they always WORK great, they break easy, and if I lose power, I have to somehow 'reset' some of them to get them to come back on, I have to cut power to some of them to get them back on, they are programmed differently from the factory, they are $80/each, and SmartLabs support gets a negative 5 stars, always. HORRIBLE service. HORRIBLE.

I have to buy new replacements about twice a year. (thank goodness for my ISY that reprograms the new ones almost instantly for me)

The only reason I haven't done something else is because I can't find any other switches/dimmers that have the multiple buttons. I use all 8 buttons on most of my keypads DAILY, and I can't imaging having only local load control again. I mean, I'd have to walk across the room again! (lol).

Are there any ZWave devices that have at least 4 buttons on them, something at least similar to what the keypadlincs can do? I'd gladly start replacing my keypadlincs with zwave devices if I could find something at all similar. I'd just replace them as the keypadlincs "die" (and believe me, it won't be long!)

Any input or links to similar devices would be much appreciated!

Deven

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11909
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Re: ZWave Dimmers

Thu May 20, 2021 1:04 pm

RadioRa2. Once and done.
You will find same life out of most Z-Wave devices.
Cheap but less reliable than Ra2.

DevenLF
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: ZWave Dimmers

Thu May 20, 2021 1:17 pm

Dave, those look PERFECT. They are ZWave, right? It doesn't say ZWave anywhere that I can see.

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11909
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Re: ZWave Dimmers

Thu May 20, 2021 1:33 pm

Lutron RadioRa2 has a patented radio communications. They are NOT Z-Wave. I think Lutron calls it "ClearConnect" or something like that.
With myServer you can run all of the technologies at once with the appropriate hub and software drivers.

You will need a dealer (us) to program a RadioRa2 system if you haven't gone through their free online training.

If you provide us a spreadsheet with the lighting loads you are trying to control (LED / incandescent etc) and Watts / Amps, and the switch style (number of buttons) then we can provide you a quote to provide the lights and program them.

shakey
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 10:55 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: ZWave Dimmers

Thu May 20, 2021 1:45 pm

I second Lutron. I started with Insteon, then went Z-wave which worked great, but went to Lutron to have more options and it just works. I still run a few Z-wave with the Lutron. myServer makes seamless.

DevenLF
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: ZWave Dimmers

Wed Apr 20, 2022 2:26 pm

What kind of "Hub" is required for the radiora2 devices, that myServer can see? myServer can see and recognize each individual button on those, right?

What about plug-in modules like for lamps? If I get Zwave modules for those, will a button on the lutron keypad be able to control those (I know not directly, but through myServer rules/routines?)

Finally, I'm fairly savvy when it comes to this stuff- If I take the online training, should I be able to program those myself?

Now that Insteon/Smartlabs is basically gone for good (which they did in the most horrible of ways), once my serial PLM dies, I'm going to have a seriously deprecated system. Sure, all the lights will still work, but as for ISY/Allonis integration, it's all gonna be gone. There are serial PLMs on ebay going for well over $600, now. You can see the desperation people are in, now, knowing that someday, their entire, quite expensive, Insteon system is going to become completely worthless, and there is nothing that can be done about it. :evil:

They have a 6 or 7 button one available. That's probably what I'll have to go for, when the time comes. Time to start saving up for when my PLM dies. (which, it will)

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11909
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Re: ZWave Dimmers

Wed Apr 20, 2022 4:41 pm

What kind of "Hub" is required for the radiora2 devices, that myServer can see? myServer can see and recognize each individual button on those, right?

A RadioRa Master Repeater is needed. Yes, individual buttons


What about plug-in modules like for lamps? If I get Zwave modules for those, will a button on the lutron keypad be able to control those (I know not directly, but through myServer rules/routines?)

yes, myServer will see the lutron keybutton push and would use that as an automation event to trigger a Z-Wave command you configure.



Finally, I'm fairly savvy when it comes to this stuff- If I take the online training, should I be able to program those myself?

There is no online training. Best is to use the UI and macros Allonis has programmed and reverse engineer how things go together.


Now that Insteon/Smartlabs is basically gone for good (which they did in the most horrible of ways), once my serial PLM dies, I'm going to have a seriously deprecated system. Sure, all the lights will still work, but as for ISY/Allonis integration, it's all gonna be gone. There are serial PLMs on ebay going for well over $600, now. You can see the desperation people are in, now, knowing that someday, their entire, quite expensive, Insteon system is going to become completely worthless, and there is nothing that can be done about it. :evil:

You shouldn't need the smarthome cloud at all. The PLM is locally controlled via ISY and the ISY is locally controlled by myServer.


They have a 6 or 7 button one available. That's probably what I'll have to go for, when the time comes. Time to start saving up for when my PLM dies. (which, it will)

Replace with Ra2 when you can.

But, keep in mind, Allonis is only supporting myServer 6 for the last few years. And only for commercial projects. We are soon going to launch the SmartRemote handheld remote control w/ touchscreen that will trigger getting back into residential for myServer 6. We offer configuration services as we do for all commercial projects today.

Thanx!!
David

Return to “General Home Automation Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest