User avatar
albright_family
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Lakewood, WA
Contact: Send private message

RadioThermostat

Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:17 am

I am purchasing the thermostats for my new house. I want to ensure that it is compatible with Allonis, I found the RadioThermostat CT50 (https://www.amazon.com/Radio-Thermostat ... B00KQS35XA).

I just want to ensure before I purchase some component that it is compatible. (While amazon returns are top-notch, I would rather not have to deal with it.)

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11604
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: RadioThermostat

Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:22 pm

The Radio Thermostat will work fine. Have a look at Ventstar ones too. I had a Radio Thermostat for a while but switched to the Ventstar. We have drivers for both.

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11909
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Re: RadioThermostat

Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:30 pm

I would not purchase the Radiothermostat. I have now had three or four. Yes, they work with myServer fine WHEN you can get them on the network.
Very buggy experience....hardware failures 50%.

Go with the Venstar. No known issues.

If Cloud is acceptable, Nest or ecobee.

User avatar
albright_family
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Lakewood, WA
Contact: Send private message

Re: RadioThermostat

Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:27 pm

I appreciate the advise.

Would the Venstar T3700 Residental Voyager Thermostat work good with a standard HVAC with heat pump. I would also be utilizing a secondary Venstar to control my gas fireplace.

Thank you

Synergy_Tech
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 9:36 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: RadioThermostat

Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:49 pm

I've been using a Radio thermostat for years and it's never failed. It's really slow to respond though. Been thinking of switching to a Venstar.

indecision
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 493
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:23 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: RadioThermostat

Thu Feb 02, 2017 4:47 pm

I installed Ecobee's in my home and so far so good. Love the remote sensor that comes with the Ecobee 3. It has given me the opportunity to deal with a few challenging (warmer/cooler) areas in my home. Dave has a plugin in development.

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11909
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Re: RadioThermostat

Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:16 pm

The EcoBee device driver was updated today to interact with multiple ecoBee thermostats associated to a given user.

Return to “Climate Family Device Drivers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest