User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact: Send private message

MLStockInfo Requires MLServer Restart after loosing Internet

Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:41 pm

Since I updated to the MLStockInfo beta I am now getting the following error when I loose Internet connection or experience slow response:

11/8/2007 8:33:49 PM Error tmrCmd_Timer Error# 440 - Automation error raised by tmrCmd_Timer

If I try to unload/reload the plugin I get:

MLStockInfo
Run-time error '429'
ActiveX component can't create object

It requires a reboot of MLServer to get it going again.

MLServer 3.0.357
MLStockInfo 3.0.346
Windows XP Pro

Any thoughts/ideas

Thanx
J.J. Jukebox
Member

jinksjj

Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:21 pm

Are you using any other plugins that use the internet?

We have been unable to recreate your problem. When there is no internet connection available you should see a log entry in the MLServer log that says there is no internet connection available that the stocks could not be updated.

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact: Send private message

Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:38 pm

I also have WeatherLobby, Horoscope and XMLobby connecting to the Internet.

When you say that MLServer log should say there is no internet connection available and that the stocks could not be updated, is that because MLWorker is now updating MLStockInfo? Any way I dont get any messages of that sort in MLServer log, only what is described above.

I have turned on the MLStockInfo log and see what gets logged when tis occurs again.

Also, is there any way to stop MLStockInfo from slowing up MLServer when starting? I know we have resolved this in other plugins.

I will report back when it happens again.

Thanx
J.J. Jukebox
Member

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11909
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:54 pm

I got same error for MLStockInfo. It needs to handle Internet down cleaner. Today it does not use MLWorker as MLStockInfo was built before existence of MLWorker. But, it should be adapted in time to use this new service.

mcascio

Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:05 am

Give the latest version 3.0.348 a shot and let us know if you still have problems with no internet.

It's now located in the PRODUCTION folder of the plugins and not beta section.

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact: Send private message

Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:43 pm

Just an updated to 3.0.348.

MLStockInfo still dies with:
Runtime Error '13'
TypeMismatch.

If I try to unload/reload the plugin I get:

MLStockInfo
Run-time error '429'
ActiveX component can't create object

It requires a reboot of MLServer to get it going again.

I am experiencing the same problem with a test system at another site.

MLServer 3.0.357
MLStockInfo 3.0.348
Windows XP Pro

Thanx
J.J. Jukebox
Member

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11909
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:38 pm

JJJukebox,
There is a possiblity you are using an older database design?

You might want to backup your current one, and delete the active one and reinstall. Then, add back a couple stocks to test. If that goes well, add all of them into the new database.

Return to “MLStockInfo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest